Three candidates in Odisha elected to Rajya Sabha

Bhubaneswar: Two candidates from Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and one from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were elected without selection to the Rajya Sabha in Odisha.
While the BJD candidates Sasmit Patra and Amar Patnaik were elected to the House of Lords, Ashwini Vaishnaw was voted into Rajya Sabha by BJP in today’s polls without opposition.
Since there were only three candidates from three vacant seats for the Rajya Sabha polls, the returning officer for the Rajya Sabha sub-polls Dasarathi Satpathy declared them winners.
The surveys were necessary after Achyutananda Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik resigned from their posts to take part in Lok Sabha polls.
However, after the resignation of Rajya Saha’s deputy Anubhav Mohanty, the poll for the seat was vacated for not less than a year to complete his term of office.

Sharing is caring!