NRI will receive an Aadhaar card upon arrival in India as the government proposes abolishing the rules for 180 days

New Delhi: Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Friday proposed to consider issuing Aadhaar’s card to non-resident Indians who have Indian passports upon their arrival in the country.
According to the current rule, NRIs with an Indian passport must wait 180 days to get the Aadhaar card.
“I propose that we consider issuing Aadhaar cards for NRIs with Indian passports upon their arrival in India without waiting for a mandatory 180 days,” Sitharaman said while presenting the Union budget today.
She also proposed launching a mission that will integrate traditional Indian craftsmen and their creative products with global markets. Wherever patents and geographical indicators are needed, they will be obtained for them.
“The soft power of India is appreciated in many different ways. Over the last three years, Yoga has been practiced in large numbers on the International Yoga Day in 192 countries around the world. The favorite Bhajan Mahatma Gandhi “Vaishnav Jana To Tene Kahiye” sang in 40 countries their leading artists. The annual quiz competition “Bharat Ko Janno” is being sought as an event for the participation of not only NRI, but also foreigners, Sitharaman said when presenting the Union budget in parliament today.
The finance minister said: “In order to give additional impetus to the growing influence and leadership of India in the international community, the government has decided to open an Indian embassy and high commissions abroad in countries where India does not yet have a diplomatic mission.” In the financial year 2019-20, the Government intends to open four new embassies. This will not only increase the visibility of India’s presence abroad, but will also enable embassies to provide better and more affordable public services, especially the local Indian community in these countries.
In March 2018, the government approved the opening of 18 new Indian diplomatic missions in Africa (Rwanda, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea, the Republic of Congo, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Mauritania, Cape Verde, Sierra Leone, Chad, São Tomé and Príncipe; Eritrea, Somalia, Guinea-Bissau, Swaziland, Liberia and Togo). Of this, the five embassies have already been opened in Rwanda, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, the Republic of Guinea and Burkina Faso in the financial year 2018-19.
The Minister of Finance said that India, in accordance with its ancient wisdom, always pursued a policy of economic co-operation with countries through bilateral and regional coordination. Bearing in mind the position of India as the sixth largest economy, the Government will consider alternative models of development involving fairness of the private sector, multilateral financing, contributions from legal and non-resident. The Minister of Finance suggested that the IDEAS scheme be reviewed during the current financial year. The Indian Development Assistance Scheme (IDEAS) provides concession financing for projects and contributes to infrastructure development and capacity building in developing countries.
The Minister of Finance said that the Government is developing 17 cult tourist sites in world class tourist destinations that will serve as a model for other tourist locations. These sites will enhance visitors’ experience, which will lead to increased visits of domestic and foreign tourists to these destinations.
The Minister of Finance announced that, in order to preserve the rich tribal cultural heritage, a digital repository is being developed in which documents, folk songs, photographs and videos of their evolution, place of creation, lifestyle, architecture, educational level, traditional art, folk dances and other anthropological details of the tribe in India will be stored. The store will be additionally enriched and reinforced.

Sharing is caring!