ECI issues notification for by-polls to 3 Rajya Sabha seats in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday issued notification for by-polls to three Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha.
According to a notification issued by the ECI, the last date for filing nominations is June 25 while the last date for nomination withdrawal is June 28. Elections will be held on July 5 from 9 am to 4 pm.The three seats which fell vacant were held by Achyutananda Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb, and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik. While Samanta was elected from Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat, Deb and Patnaik won from Aul and Khandapada Assembly segments in the recently held elections.
Samanta and Patnaik’s term in the Upper House was to end in April 2024 while Deb’s term in the Rajya Sabha was till July 2022.

Sharing is caring!