Centre to convene all-party meeting today, triple talaq bill on agenda

New Delhi: The Central government has called for an all-party meeting today (June 16) to discuss the agenda for the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha, starting June 17.
During the meeting, the Narendra Modi-led NDA government will seek the support of the opposition parties to ensure smooth functioning of both the houses of the parliament. The working hours of the 16th Lok Sabha were 40% lower than the average of all full-time Lok Sabha sessions. It was the second lowest by a House that completed a full term, according to a legislative watchdog report.
At the meeting, the government is likely to seek opposition’s support in getting crucial bills passed in the session including one on triple talaq, which was approved by the Union Cabinet on Wednesday this week.
The bill, ‘Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2019’ makes it illegal for a Muslim man to divorce his wife by uttering the word “talaq” three times and provides for a jail term of three years for violators.
However, the Opposition, led by the Congress, has objected to the provision of the jail term in the bill. Earlier, the bill was passed in the Lok Sabha but got stuck in the Rajya Sabha. The government had to bring in an ordinance to prevent it from lapsing and now again will push for its passage in the parliament.
“We will introduce the triple talaq bill in the upcoming parliament session. We are hopeful that it will be passed this time in Rajya Sabha as well. The country is progressing and it will be introduced in this session,” information and broadcasting minister Prakash Javadekar had said on Wednesday.
Apart from Triple Talaq bill, The Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Teachers Cadre) Bill, 2019 and Aadhaar and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill 2019 are likely to be tabled.
The first session of the Lok Sabha will commence tomorrow till July 26. The Economic Survey will be presented on July 4 and Budget on July 5. But first, the protem speaker Virendra Kumar will administer the oath of newly elected MPs and conduct the elections for the Speaker of the house on June 19.
President Ram Nath Kovind will address the joint sitting of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha on June 20, followed by a discussion on the Motion of Thanks.

Sharing is caring!