2005 Ayodhya attack: Prayagraj court sentences 4 to life imprisonment, acquits 1

Prayagraj: A Special court in Prayagraj has sentenced four persons to life imprisonment and acquitted one in 2005 Ayodhya terror attack case.
Reports said the judiciary has taken 14 years to pronounce the verdict in the 2005 Ayodhya terror attack case that killed two civilians along with the five Jaish-e-Mohammed terrorists who perpetrated the attack on July 5 that year.
The Special judge Dinesh Chandra, who was hearing the case, announced the verdict in a special court in Prayagraj on Tuesday. The accused were locked up in the Naini Central Jail in Prayagraj.
The JeM ultras had barged into the makeshift complex at the disputed Ram Janmabhoomi-Babri Masjid site. The security personnel and militants were engaged in a long gunfight that lasted close to two hours.
Due to security constraints, the verdict was pronounced in the prison where the accused – Irrfan, Mohammad Shakeel, Mohammad Naseem, Mohammad Aziz, Asif Iqbal and Farookh – are locked up.
Reports said the terrorists entered the country via Nepal border posing as pilgrims who were en route to Ayodhya.
When they reached the premises, they hurled a grenade. A guide named Ramesh Pandey died as he was near the site of the blast.
The terrorists then entered Mata Sita Rasoi and opened indiscriminate firing. A battery of 35 Central Reserve Police Force personnel arrived and killed the five terrorists after the gun battle.

Sharing is caring!